Uncategorized

Your Choice 1 – Pets and Peeps

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For this assignment I chose to practice my portraits. After taking JRN 420, I realized I enjoy making posed pictures of people and wanted to continue. However, I did not want to do just pictures of people. I originally thought of doing just pets but then I thought to instead show the bond that people share with their pets. With that in mind, I did three pictures for each photos shoot: the pet, the owner and a candid shot showing their environment or interaction. The goal was to show people and their pets as they are.

When thinking about how to approach this I remembered I love window light, so I made a point to avoid lighting my pictures with strobes and instead try to find the best natural light. I also wanted to explore my skills photographing animals. Not only was it challenging, it was frustrating sometimes because animals are unpredictable. I tried to do one of me and my dog but it was super challenging and I did not work out so I did the best picture of him for now, just for fun, and I will work on a self portrait in the future when I have access to better light at home.

Each photo shoot took me anywhere from two to three hours, if not more, depending on how much the pets cooperated. Some are definitely better than others but my goal is to continue this mini series and do some re-shoots. I also want to find more than just dogs and cats in the future for something like this. Overall, I had fun doing this and my biggest hope is to make the owners fall in love with their pets all over again with my pictures.

Leave a comment